Mahavira's Scripture Of Health: [04.10] Bio-Potential And Health - Paryapti Regarding Senses And Health

Published: 13.04.2007
Updated: 06.08.2008

Let us concentrate on three things: the tip of the nose, the throat and the nabhi chakra.

In the language of Hathayoga, nabhi-chakra is called Manipura chakra and the throat is called vishuddhi chakra. There is no special word for the tip of the nose in yoga. But in prekshadhyana, they are called the taijas kendra, the vishuddhi kendra and the prana kendra respectively. Let us realise that the function of the nose is not merely to smell. The nose also plays a very big role in maintaining good health. In everything that has been said about Mahavira, there is a frequent reference to his concentrating on the tip of his nose. That was the key to his health. He kept himself healthy, physically, mentally and emotionally in spite of all the hardships he had to undergo. What was the reason? Concentration on the tip of his nose is an important secret of his health.

The function of the eye is to see. But that is not the only function of the eye. The eye too is our centre of consciousness. The eye plays a big role in maintaining health.

The ear is not merely the centre for hearing. This is also a very important centre for coming out of habitual intoxication.

In prekshadhyana, one is asked to concentrate on all the five senses. The process of concentration on the paryaptis in also well developed, but no experiments have been conducted in this field so far. It is necessary to pay attention to the paryapti with regard to the senses along with the paryapti with regard to food and the body. You can remain healthy if your senses are healthy. You must concentrate on the eyes for five minutes, on the ears for five minutes and on the nose for ten minutes. You would then be free from many troubles as well as physical ailments. This has been proved through experience.

  • Mahavira's Scripture Of Health by © Acharya Mahaprajna
  • Edited by Muni Dulheraj & Muni Dhananjay Kumar
  • Translated by Sarla Jag Mohan
  • Published by Adarsh Sahitya Sangh, New Dehli, India, 2000

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Body
  2. Chakra
  3. Concentration
  4. Consciousness
  5. Kendra
  6. Mahavira
  7. Paryapti
  8. Paryaptis
  9. Prana
  10. Prana Kendra
  11. Prekshadhyana
  12. Taijas Kendra
  13. Vishuddhi Kendra
  14. Yoga
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1981 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: