Acharanga Bhasyam: (7) Main Divisions

Published: 13.09.2010
Updated: 02.07.2015

There are nine chapters in the Ācārāṅga. But there is some difference in the names as well as in the order of these nine chapters as given in the Samavāyāṅga [1] and the Ācārāṅga Niryukti.[2]

Samavāyāṅga Ācārāṅga Niryukti
Satthapariṇṇā Satthapariṇṇā
Logavijaya Logavijaya
Sῑosaṇijja Sῑosaṇijja
Sammatta Sammatta
Āyvaṃtῑ Logasāra
Dhuta Dhuya
Vimohāyaṇa Mahāpariṇṇā
Uvahāṇasuya Vimokkha
Mahapariṇṇā Uvahāṇasuya

There is difference in the nomenclature as well as the order. The original name of the Vth chapter is 'Logasre'. Āvantῑ however is its name only because it is the first word. In the Anuyogadvara it is mentioned as an instance.[3] The Niryuktikāra also considers 'Āvantῑ’ as the name due to the Logasāra as a subsidiary name.[4]


Jump to occurrence in text


Jump to occurrence in text


Jump to occurrence in text


Jain Vishwa Bharati

Ladnun- 341 306 (Raj.) India © Jain Vishva Bharti

ISBNS 1-7195-74-4

First Edition:2001

Courtesy :
Shree Chhotulal Sethia Charitable Trust Sethia House, 23/24,
Radha Bazar Street, Kolkata-700 001 (INDIA)

Printed by:
Shree Vardhaman Press
Delhi (INDIA)

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Anuyogadvāra
  2. Dhammo
  3. Dhuta
  4. Niryukti
  5. Vṛtti
  6. Ācārāṅga
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 993 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: