Anekanta: The Third Eye: [05.05] Third Eye 2 - The Order Of Origination Of Kama Or Love

Published: 10.05.2007
Updated: 06.08.2008

In our body there are two important systems, the nervous system and the endocrines. Four endocrine glands are very important: the pineal, the pituitary, thyroid and adrenal. While all the endocrine glands play an important role, these four are especially important.

Even among these four, the pituitary is of greatest importance. In medical science it is called the master gland. It influences our activities a great deal. Looking at it biologically, it must be said that physical attraction does not come from just the presence of a man and woman but it happens when the secretion of the pineal and pituitary glands reach the gonads. The pituitary secretes gonadotrophing. This reaches the gonads and influences the sex glands.

But this is not the entire truth. And by knowing all this, the problem is not solved. Only the biological perspective is gained. We have to go even beyond this. We have to think with the transcendental perspective. Biology is truth from the empirical perspective, based on gross, visible facts. We could go ahead and enter the zone of karma sastra. The karma sastra says that due to the rise of mohaniya karma, sexual feelings are aroused. Stree-ved, Purush-ved and Napunsak-ved are sub-categories of mohaniya karma. When these are aroused, when they mature, then sexual desires arise. To go even ahead, the psychologist working in the spiritual field would say, when our emotional system works well then the stirrings of love are felt.

All these are uni-dimensional statements. They have not reached the entire truth even now. If we use them then we are harnessing truth. There are four points. The first is the emotional system, the second is maturation of karma, the third is glandular secretions and the fourth is the external stimulus of physical proximity. When all these four things happen together, then carnal desires are felt. This could not have been understood or explained without anekanta.

When our emotional system is working well, it influences one part of our brain. That part is called the hypothalamus. That in turn influences the pituitary glands. One secretion of the hypothalamus is called pampatine. It is through this chemical, the pituitary is influenced. As soon as the idea of sex comes to the emotional system, then feelings of anger or fear are born. This in turn affects the pituitary. All the mental influences or tensions come to the hypothalamus. It is a storehouse of tension. When this part of the brain is full of stress, it influences the pituitary. The pituitary in turn influences the thyroid and the gonads. This way a whole chain of our mental tensions is created. When carnal desires arise then the pituitary influences the sex glands and the gonads. When there is anger or fear, then the pituitary influences the adrenal gland. Thus there is a complete cycle:

  1. The activity of the emotional system influences the brain.
  2. The brain influences the pituitary.
  3. The pituitary influences the gonads, thyroid and the adrenal.

When this cycle is completed then we experience pride, fear, sexuality etc.
What was known in ancient times as the agya chakra can today be called the pineal and the pituitary glands. Both these glands are located within the area of the agya chakra. The agya chakra is said to be located near the eyebrows, but this is not entirely true. The agya chakra falls where the first half of the thumb falls when we place the central part of it between the eyebrows. The whole region where we apply tilak or the vermilion mark on the forehead is the region of the agya chakra. Within its boundaries fall both the pituitary and the pineal. Both become deeply connected. The pineal has many secrets. Initially it is the pineal which influences sex but later leaves the job to the pituitary, and moves away. The pituitary is able to cope with this responsibility.

  • Anekanta: The Third Eye by Acharya Mahaprajna, © 2002
  • Translated by Sudhamahi Regunathan
  • Published by Jain Vishva Bharati Institute (Deemed University), Ladnun, Rajasthan, India

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Adrenal Gland
  2. Anekanta
  3. Anger
  4. Body
  5. Brain
  6. Chakra
  7. Fear
  8. Gonads
  9. Hypothalamus
  10. Karma
  11. Mohaniya
  12. Mohaniya Karma
  13. Pituitary Glands
  14. Pride
  15. Science
  16. Tilak
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1513 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: