Navkar Mahamantra: 1. Sensory Knowledge (Mati Gyan)

Published: 11.11.2013
Updated: 19.12.2013

Page 21


1. Sensory Knowledge (Mati Gyan):

It is usually known as perceptual knowledge in the Agamas. It belongs to the category of indirect knowledge. It is born with the help of sense organs and mind. There are four stages of development of Mati Gyan viz. (i) Avagraha (Reception) (ii) Iha (Speculation) (iii) Avaya (Perceptual judgment) (iv) Dharna (Retention):

  1. Avagraha (Reception):
    Synonyms of perception are receiving, holding, hearing, grasping, awareness. It is the contact of object or stimulation of sense organs.
  2. Iha (Speculation):
    It is the second stage. In it the mind tries to determine the characteristic of the object. For instance in perception a person simply hears a sound while in speculation he tries to know the nature of the sound.
  3. Avaya (Perceptual judgment):
    It is ascertainment of the right and exclusion of the wrong. It, therefore, is a determinate knowledge of the object.
  4. Dharna (Retention):
    Perceptual judgment is followed by retention. It is the retention of knowledge. Synonyms are memory, holding, placing, fixing, firmly grasping etc.

Let us now describe two important divisions of sensory knowledge:

  1. Vinaiky
    Vinaiky is born of humility and service. It is defined as the intellect which is capable of completing a difficult task. It can comprehend the spirit and letter of the trio of dharma (religion) arth (material prosperity) and kam (sensual pleasure). It is fruitful in this world as well as hereafter.

  2. Karmiki
    The intellect developed due to practical experience is called karmiki. It is not learning that is responsible for its development, but practical experience that is important. As an experienced gold-smith can easily differentiate between pure gold and alloy, while a layman with bookish knowledge is easily deceived.
Title: Navkar Mahamantra Designer & Publisher: Prakash Sancheti / Navkar Textile, Jodhpur, India Edition: 2012 HN4U Online Edition: 2013

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Agamas
  2. Avagraha
  3. Dharma
  4. Gyan
  5. Kam
  6. Mati Gyan
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1006 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: