Karma - The Mechanism: Tattvarthasutra 8.20

Published: 04.09.2014
Updated: 04.09.2014

Shesanamantarmuhurta (20)

All other types of karma, i.e.
  • karma that obstructs access to the five channels of knowledge (jnana-varana)
  • karma that prevents insight and understanding (darshana-varana)
  • karma that causes delusion (mohaniya)
  • karma that determines the duration and place of our (future) embodiment(s) (ayu) and
  • karma that causes obstruction in life (antaraya)

will remain bound to us for a minimum of ca. 1 second (one avali) to ca. 48 minutes (one muhurta). (20)

The time for which karma is bound to us is considerably influenced by the stage of development (gunasthana) we currently experience.

In the ninth stage of development (anivritta karana) we gain the ability to actively dissolve deluding karma in the shortest possible time.

In the tenth stage of development (suksma samparaya) we become able to actively dissolve karma that prevents insight, obstructs access to the five channels of knowledge and causes obstructions, in the shortest possible time.


Title: Karma - The Mechanism

Publisher: Crosswind Publishing

Edition: 2000

HN4U Edition: 2014

'The purpose of souls is to assist each other.'
TATTVARTHASUTRA - Chapter 5, Sutra 21

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Anivritta Karana
  2. Antaraya
  3. Ayu
  4. Darshana-varana
  5. Gunasthana
  6. Jnana-varana
  7. Karma
  8. Mohaniya
  9. Muhurta
  10. Suksma Samparaya
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 699 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: