The Enigma Of The Universe : Time-Units In Jain Philosophy

Published: 19.03.2015
Updated: 02.07.2015
The units of time in the Jain philosophy have been classified in three kinds:

1. Saṃkhyāta (numerable or countable) time-units. The units of time from ‘samaya’ to Śīrṣaprahelikā are saṃkhyāta time units.

2. Asaṃkhyāta (innumerable or uncountable) time-units.The units of time like palyopama, sāgaropama etc. are considered asaṃkhyāta time-units.

3. Ananta (infinite) time units. The units of time like pudgalaparāvartana are ananta time units.
Title: The Enigma Of The Universe Publisher: JVB University Ladnun English Edition: 2010 HN4U Online Edition: 2014

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Ananta
  2. Asaṃkhyāta
  3. Jain Philosophy
  4. Palyopama
  5. Samaya
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 397 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.38
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: