Preksa Dhyana - Theory And Practice: [05.08.02] Technique - Contemplation Of Fearlessness

Published: 14.04.2007
Updated: 06.08.2008
  1. Lie down flat on your back (or continue the sitting posture) and further relax your body. At the end, be aware of total relaxation of the body and alertness of the mind.
  2. Here the word fearlessness indicates a positive virtue which enables one to face danger, difficulty or even death with equanimity. It implies mental firmness arising from mental contraditions. It stresses a resolute freedom from fear (irrational or otherwise) and an unshakable determination.
  3. Regulate your breath and make it slow, deep and rhythmic
    Visualize that you are surrounded by bright rose pink light and with each inhalation you are breathing in bright pink-coloured air.
    Continue it for 3 minutes.
  4. Concentrate your full attention on the Centre of Bliss
  5. Recite the following sentences aloud nine times:
    "My virtue of fearlessness is becoming stronger."
    "My instinct of fear is diminishing"
  6. Now recite the above mentally 9 times
  7. Contemplate on the high moral value of this virtue on the following lines:

    • Fear withers even the developed abilities and does not permit the latent ones to be developed.
      I must, therefore, strive to attain the virtue of fearlessness.
    • Everybody tries to frighten one who is afraid.
    • Fear makes one a coward.
    • A coward does neither attract respect nor sympathy.
    • I firmly resolve to attain fearlessness to develop latent inner strength.
    • Undoubtedly I will attain freedom from fear.
  8. Terminate the exercise by reciting Mahaprana Dhavani for 2 minutes.
  • Preksa Dhyana - Theory And Practice by Acharya Mahaprajna, © 1994
  • Edited by Muni Mahendra Kumar
  • Translated by Muni Mahendra Kumar, Jethalal Zaveri
  • Published by Jain Vishva Barati, Edition 2003

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Body
  2. Centre of Bliss
  3. Equanimity
  4. Fear
  5. Fearlessness
  6. Mahaprana
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1201 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: