how long is the common app essay research paper about cars web design homework help best college admissions essay 10 steps thesciencehomeworkhelp com research proposal powerpoint example homework help hotline las vegas global warming research essay writing a paper in apa masters research thesis

sex movies

سكس عربي

arabic sex movies



سكس xxx

Anekāntavāda And Syādvāda: The Concomitance Of One And Many

Published: 04.11.2011
Updated: 02.07.2015

There are dialogues which throw light on the concomitance of one and many. The following dialogue is an illustration in point: -

Somila: 'Are you one or many, O Lord?'

Lord: 'I am one in respect of substance, O Somila, However, in respect of knowledge and intuition I am two. In respect of parts (constituents of a substance) I am immutable, eternal and unchanging. I am many in respect of the ever-changing phases of my consciousness.'[1]

The nature of the substance and modes entails the relationship of one and many.,, universal and particular, permanent and impermanent. The substance is one while the modes are many. The substance stands for the universal and the modes for the particular. The substance is eternal while the modes are changeable.

The universal is two-fold—the horizontal (tiryag) and the vertical (ūrdhva).[2] The proposition 'I am one', refers to the horizontal universal which is the experience of unity (ekatva), pervasiveness (anvaya) and essence (dhruvatva). The proposition 'I am many', in respect of the successive functions of my consciousness represents the vertical universal. There is the experience of before and after in it. The horizontal universal is the essence pervading through the different contemporary states, which establishes their unity. The vertical universal consists in the successive changes that are similar, which establishes a unity running through the past, present and future.

We find elaborate investigations into the nature of non-absolutism and the doctrine of relativism in the Āgamic literature. The dictum—no word of the jina is independent of naya (a particular viewpoint) is the reputed principle of Āgamic exegesis. Each proposition of the Āgama was explained by means of the nayas. The tradition says that the Dṛṣṭivāda, the twelfth text of the basic scripture, contained philosophical discussions based on different viewpoints. By the third century B.C. the main part of the text was lost, leaving behind only a fragment of it. Vācaka Umāsvāti and Ācārya Siddhasena were the pioneers in the application of the nayas to the different philosophical problems of their times and Ācārya Samantabhadra carried this process to its consummation by including a good number of new issues that had cropped up by his time. Siddhasena clearly demonstrated that the Sāṃkhya system illustrated the substantial standpoint whereas the Buddhist philosophy is a representive of the modal viewpoint. In this way he made an evaluation of all the systems of thought that were extant, from the relativistic standpoint, with reference to different nayas. The most important treatise of his on the subject is the Sanmati Tarka, while the most significant work of Samantabhadra on this subject is the Āpta-Mīmāṃsā, in which he has most successfully been able to apply the principle of sevenfold predication to the current problems of universal and particular, identity and difference, existence and non-existence and such other mutually opposed doctrines to establish a synthesis between them. Both these treatises can be regarded as pioneer works of the philosophy of non-absolutism.


Jump to occurrence in text


Jump to occurrence in text

Published by:
Jain Vishwa Bharati Institute
Ladnun - 341 306 (Rajasthan) General Editor:
Sreechand Rampuria
Edited by:
Rai Ashwini Kumar
T.M. Dak
Anil Dutta Mishra

First Edition:1996
© by the Authors

Printed by:
Pawan Printers
J-9, Naveen Shahdara, Delhi-110032

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Anvaya
  2. Consciousness
  3. Dhruvatva
  4. Dṛṣṭivāda
  5. Ekatva
  6. Jina
  7. Naya
  8. Nayas
  9. Non-absolutism
  10. Siddhasena
  11. Sāṃkhya
  12. Tarka
  13. Tiryag
  14. Umāsvāti
  15. Ācārya
  16. Āgama
  17. ūrdhva
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 821 times.
© 1997-2022 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: