The Nature Of Reality ► [06] Categories Of Being

Posted: 13.07.2005

The Jainas divide all existents into three main categories:

  1. those which are sentient;
  2. those which are material;
  3. those which are neither sentient nor material.

"Sentient" here refers to the jiva or soul, which is characterized by consciousness.
"Material" designates atoms (pudgala) possessing

  • form/color,
  • taste,
  • smell, and
  • palpability.

The third category, called arupi-ajiva. is understood to include four insentient, formless, yet existent substances (dravyas):

Although "soul" is unquestionably the most important of these categories for the Jaina, our discussion of the existents cannot begin there; we must first understand the context of temporal, spatial, and material factors in which the soul finds itself the very fabric of bondage from which it strives to escape.

Share this page on: