Published: 25.12.2003
Updated: 09.06.2015


A structural overview

  23 Tirthankaras



24th Tirtankara





Murtipujaka (Mandirmargi)
Amurtipujaka (Sadhumargi)

(5th-14th CE)

Mula Sangh (c.430 CE)

└► Nandi Gana



Kashtha Sangh

└► Nanditat Gaccha

└► Mathura Sangh

└► Bagada Gaccha

└► Lata-bagada Gaccha


└► Deshiya Gana (860 CE)

└► Bhattaraka of Mudabidri
└► Bhattaraka of Shravanabelgola

Vrahada Gaccha (937 CE)
Kharatara Gaccha (1024 CE)

└► Balatkara Gana (1071 CE)

└► Bhattaraka of Humbaj

└► Sena Gana
└► Deva Gana
└► Simha Gana



Tristutik Gaccha (1194 CE)

Upakesha Gaccha

Oswal ►
◄ Oswal

Tapa Gaccha (1228 CE)

Ancala Gaccha


Lonka Gaccha


Parshwachandra Gaccha
Taran Panth (Samaiyapanth)


Digambar Terapanth

Shvetambar Terapanth
Guman Panth

Nav Terapanth

Kavi Panth

Pandit Todarmal Smarak Trust

Kanji Swami Panth


also called Jinism, or known as Arhat Dharma (in ancient time)

Jainism is the one of the oldest religious traditions in India, and perhaps the world. It is based on the principles of non-violence, non-possession, self-control and strenuous effort in pursuit of spiritual goals.

Jainism is one of the oldest of the three major religions that developed in the Indian sub-continent before the Common Era. The exemplary figure of the Jains is Mahavira, an older contemporary of Buddha. Mahavira is often described by non-Jains as the founder of Jainism. However, Mahavira is the last of the twenty-four Tirthankaras (spiritual path founders) or Jinas (self-conquerors) of our era, and the successor of the religious teacher, Parsvanath.

Today there are over 5 million Jains in India and sizable numbers in Europe, USA, Canada, East Africa, Australia, Japan and Singapore. The majority of Jains are engaged either in business or in professions such as law, medicine, engineering, and journalism.

The Jain community and tradition can be seen as a microcosm of Indian society and ways of thought. Scholarship within the Jain tradition has spanned centuries and has covered such fields of inquiry as science, mathematics, logic, religion and philosophy.


Jainism believes in a cyclical nature of the universe, a universe without a beginning, without an end and without a creator.

It is the religion of Jina, also called the religion of Ahimsa, enunciated by 24 Tirthankaras, last ones known as Mahavira (~ 599 BC), a contemporary of Buddha, and Parsva (~850 BC). Both found acceptance as historic persons. The appearance of the 22 predecessors reach for eons.

Mahavira propounded Jainism by giving central importance to the soul, with high emphasis on conquering the inner enemies.

Jainism teaches a way to spiritual purity and enlightenment through a disciplined mode of life and is founded upon the tradition of Ahimsa, non-violence to all living creatures.

The five ethics of Jainism are:

  • Ahimsa (non-violence),
  • Satya (pursuit of truth),
  • Asteya (non-stealing and honesty),
  • Aparigraha (non-possession and non-attachment) and
  • Brahmacharya (celibacy).

These are also called the five Vratas (vows) and have to be realized by mind, speech and body.

A distinction is drawn between these ethics or Vratas for the ascetic (saints, monks & nuns) and for the layman (sravak).

The saints have to practice the Vratas rigorously.

But the sravakas have to and can practice with lesser degree according to their worldly life.

Another important fundamental concept of Jainism is Anekanta.

It states that reality is complex. It can be looked at from different point of views. Each point of view gives the picture of reality which is as valid and real as the picture of reality received from other point of view.

Jainism has contributed to the philosophy of life in its insistence that the pathway to perfection is threefold:

  • Samyak-Darshana (right faith/right understanding)
  • Samyak-Jnana (Right knowledge) and
  • Samyak-Charitra (right conduct).

Jiyo Aur Jine Do (live and let live) is the main slogan of Jainism which was given by Bhagwan Mahaveer about two thousand six hundred years ago.

Beginning in the 7th-5th century BCE, Jainism evolved into a cultural system that has made significant contributions to Indian philosophy and logic, art and architecture, mathematics, astronomy and astrology, and literature.

Along with Hinduism and Buddhism, it is one of the three most ancient Indian religious traditions still in existence, it is not a Hindu sect or Buddhist heresy, as earlier scholars believed.

Jainism has two principal quite different branches, the Digambara (Sanskrit 'Sky-clad', naked) and the Svetambara (Sanskrit 'White robed') Jains. The male Digambara ascetics wear no clothes, the Svetambara wear white robes.

Digambara worship idols in temples, whereas Svetambara in general are not practising idolatry and do not have temples.


Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Ahimsa
  2. Amurtipujaka
  3. Ancala Gaccha
  4. Anekanta
  5. Aparigraha
  6. Arhat
  7. Asteya
  8. Bagada Gaccha
  9. Balatkara Gana
  10. Bhattaraka
  11. Bhattaraka of Humbaj
  12. Bhattaraka of Mudabidri
  13. Bhattaraka of Shravanabelgola
  14. Bispanth
  15. Body
  16. Brahmacharya
  17. Buddha
  18. Buddhism
  19. Celibacy
  20. Deshiya Gana
  21. Deva
  22. Deva Gana
  23. Dharma
  24. Digambar
  25. Digambar Terapanth
  26. Digambara
  27. Gaccha
  28. Guman Panth
  29. Hinduism
  30. Humbaj
  31. Jina
  32. Kanji Swami
  33. Kanji Swami Panth
  34. Kashtha Sangh
  35. Kavi Panth
  36. Kharatara Gaccha
  37. Lata-bagada Gaccha
  38. Lonka
  39. Lonka Gaccha
  40. Mahaveer
  41. Mandirmargi
  42. Mathura
  43. Mathura Sangh
  44. Mudabidri
  45. Mula Sangh
  46. Murtipujaka
  47. Nandi Gana
  48. Nanditat Gaccha
  49. Nav Terapanth
  50. Non-violence
  51. Oswal
  52. Pandit
  53. Pandit Todarmal Smarak Trust
  54. Parshwachandra Gaccha
  55. Parsvanath
  56. Sadhumargi
  57. Samaiyapanth
  58. Sangh
  59. Sanskrit
  60. Satya
  61. Science
  62. Sena Gana
  63. Shravanabelgola
  64. Shvetambar
  65. Shvetambar Terapanth
  66. Shvetambara
  67. Simha Gana
  68. Singapore
  69. Soul
  70. Sravak
  71. Sravakas
  72. Sthanakvasi
  73. Svetambara
  74. Swami
  75. Tapa
  76. Tapa Gaccha
  77. Taran Panth
  78. Terapanth
  79. Tirthankaras
  80. Tristutik Gaccha
  81. Upakesha Gaccha
  82. Vrahada Gaccha
  83. Yapaniya
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 44854 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.29
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: