Digambar Terapanth

Published: 14.07.2011
Updated: 17.12.2012

Digamba.r Terapanth

Digambar Terapanth is a branch of Digambar Jain tradition and emerged in the 17th century in Jaipur region, contemporaneous with the Bispanth, as a movement against the domination of Bhattarakas. They opposed against worship of various minor gods and goddesses.

The Digambar Jains who have continued to follow older practices are termed Bispanth, but most Digambar Jains do not identify themselves as being exclusively Terapanth or Bispanth.

Previous, the Adhyatma movement among the Jains arose in 1626 CE (1683 in the Vikram Samvat calendar). Its leading proponent was Banarasidas of Agra.
Adhyatma groups flourished during 1644-1726 in Agra, Lahore and Multan. While the movement was based on the books written by Acharya Kundakunda, most of its followers were of Shvetambar sect. It represents an interaction of the Digambara and Shvetambar sects. Later it indirectly influenced the emergence of Terapanth. Poet Dyanatrai was associated with the Adhyatma movement.

The Digambar Terapanth order is not to be confused with the independent lineage of Shvetambar Terapanth.


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Acharya
  2. Acharya Kundakunda
  3. Adhyatma
  4. Agra
  5. Bhattarakas
  6. Bispanth
  7. Digambar
  8. Digambara
  9. Jaipur
  10. Kundakunda
  11. Shvetambar
  12. Shvetambar Terapanth
  13. Terapanth
  14. Vikram Samvat
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 2212 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.45
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: