Samyag Darshan

Posted: 21.08.2008
Updated on: 29.01.2013


Samayag Darshan, Samyag Darshana, Samyag Darśan, Samyag Darśana, Samyagdarsana, Samyagdarśana, Samyak Darshan, Samyak Darśana, Saṃyagdarsana, सम्यग्दर्शन

Right vision, right attitude, proper view of reality

Rational Perception, Right vision, Right Perspective, Right view.

The 3 Jewels of Jainism:

  1. Samyag Darshan - Right Vision
  2. Samyag Jnana - Right Knowledge
  3. Samyag Charitra - Right Conduct

Jainism bases itself on the concepts of Jiva (living souls), Ajiva (non-living objects) and the bondage that arises between them due to their interaction (karmic flow) as starting point for the development of its knowledge and practice. It is not based on axioms, but on insights described in metaphors such as

    • sudden glimpse of self-realization
    • swift flash of insight
    • spiritual awakening, spiritual enlightment, etc.

The framework of right view in Jainism, consists of nine fundamentals namely, Jiva (living beings), Ajiva (non-living objects), Papa (bad karma), Punya (good karma), Asrava (in-flux of karma), Bandha (bonding and constraining soul), Samvara(stoppage of in-flux of karma), Nirjara (eradication of karmic bonding) and Moksa (total liberation or salvation from karmic bonding). These nine fundamental concepts, provide the metaphysical structure of Jain philosophy.

See also

  • Ratnatraya


Share this page on: