Bhagavan Mahavira Life and Philosophy : [07.13] The Purpose of Metaphysics

Published: 14.09.2005
Updated: 06.08.2008

Chapter 7

The Relevance Of The Jaina Religion To Modern Problems

he metaphysics in the context of religion is not an intellectual exercise. Its purpose is not merely to know, but is moksa - to emancipate the soul.

Bhagavan Mahavira laid down nine principles for the achievement of this purpose:

  1. jiva
  2. ajiva
  3. punya
  4. papa
  5. asrava
  6. samvara
  7. nirjara
  8. bandha
  9. moksa

Among these the first two, i.e., jiva and ajiva, have been conceived from the point of view of existence, i.e., they are metaphysical realities and the remaining are the parts of the process of bandha and moksa.

Asrava, bandha, punya and papa are the causes of the cycle of suffering. Samvara and nirjara are the causes of emancipation from this cycle.

One who becomes completely emancipated from the cycle of suffering attains moksa.

In other words, atma becomes paramatma (supreme soul).

Title: Bhagavan Mahavira Life and Philosophy
Translated & Edited: Muni Mahendra Kumar


Edition 1995
Publisher: Jain Vishva Bharati, Ladnun, India

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Ajiva
  2. Asrava
  3. Atma
  4. Bandha
  5. JAINA
  6. Jaina
  7. Jiva
  8. Mahavira
  9. Moksa
  10. Nirjara
  11. Papa
  12. Paramatma
  13. Punya
  14. Samvara
  15. Soul
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1773 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: