Bhagavan Mahavira Life and Philosophy : [09.01] Philosophy And Exhortation (1)

Published: 19.09.2005
Updated: 02.07.2015

Chapter 9

Philosophy And Exhortation


All unenlightened persons produce sufferings. Having become deluded, they produce and reproduce sufferings, in this endless world.
(Uttaradhyayana, 6/1)


Just as a threaded (sasutra) needle is secure from being lost, in the same way a person given to self-study (sasutra) cannot be lost.
(Uttaradhyayana, 29/59)


Only that science is a great and the best of all sciences, the study of which frees man from all kinds of miseries.
(Isibhasiya, 7/1)


That with the help of which we can know the truth, control the restless mind, and purify the soul is called knowledge in the Jaina doctrine.
(Mulacara, 5/70)


That which subdues passions, leads to beatitude and fosters friendliness is called knowledge in the Jaina doctrine.
(Mulacara, 5/71)


The unenlightened takes millions of lives to extirpate the effects of karma whereas a man possessing spiritual knowledge and discipline obliterates them in a single moment.
(Bhagavati Aradhana, 10)


The nights that have departed will never return. They have been wasted by those given toadharma (unrighteousness) (Uttaradhyayana, 14/25)


The nights that have departed will never return. They are profitable for one who is given to dharma (righteousness). (Uttaradhyayana, 14/25)


Those who are ignorant of the supreme purpose of life will never be able to attain nirvana (liberation) in spite of their observance of the vratas (vows) and niymas (rules) of religious conduct and practice of sila (celibacy) and tapas (penance).
(Samayasara, 153)


My soul characterised by knowledge and faith is alone eternal. All other phases of my existence to which I am attached are external occurrences that are transitory.
(Niyamasara, 99)

Title: Bhagavan Mahavira Life and Philosophy
Translated & Edited: Muni Mahendra Kumar


Edition 1995
Publisher: Jain Vishva Bharati, Ladnun, India

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Aradhana
  2. Celibacy
  3. Dharma
  4. Discipline
  5. JAINA
  6. Jaina
  7. Karma
  8. Nirvana
  9. Niyamasara
  10. Niymas
  11. Samayasara
  12. Science
  13. Soul
  14. Tapas
  15. Uttaradhyayana
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1752 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: