Acharya Kundakunda

Published: 11.07.2015
Acharya Kunda Kunda, Acharya Kundkund, Kundakunda


Born: 1-2nd century CE


Kundakunda, Kundkund, Kunda Kunda

A celebrated Jain Acharya, Jain scholar monk, exponent of Jain mysticism and Jain nayas dealing with the nature of the soul and its contamination by matter.

Composer of spiritual classics such as:
  • Atthapahuda (Eight Discourses)
  • Barasanuvekkha (Twelve Contemplations)
  • Dasabhatti (Ten Worships)
  • Niyamasara (Essence of Discipline)
  • Pancastikayasara (Essence of the Five Existents)
  • Pravacanasara (Essence of the Scripture)
  • Samayasara (Essence of the doctrine)

He occupies the highest place in the tradition of the Jain acharyas. He belonged to the Mula Sangh order. His proper name was Padmanandi, he is popularly referred to as Kundakunda because he was born in a place named Kaundakunda in South India. He is closely associated with the Digambara sect, also in recent decades, his books have become popular among Svetambaras also. He was known also as:
  • Padmanandi
  • Elacarya  
  • Vakragriva
  • Grddhapiccha


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Acharya
  2. Acharyas
  3. Atthapahuda
  4. Digambara
  5. Discipline
  6. Kundkund
  7. Mula Sangh
  8. Nayas
  9. Niyamasara
  10. Samayasara
  11. Sangh
  12. Soul
  13. Svetambaras
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 19468 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: