Jain Agam Literature

Published: 11.10.2010
Updated: 24.01.2012
Jaina Canon

The canonical scriptures of Śvetāmbara Jains are called Āgama or Siddhānta.

According to different classifications the canon is composed of 45 to 50 texts which divide into five categories:

  1. Aṅga
  2. Uvaṅga (Sanskrit: Upāṅga)
  3. Paiṇṇa (Sanskrit: Prakīrṇa)
  4. Cheyasutta (Sanskrit: Chedasūtra)
  5. Mūlasutta (Sanskrit: Mūlasūtra)

The main section are the 12 Aṅga ("limbs") in which each Aṅga is associated with an Uvaṅga (Sanskrit: Upāṅga). The 12th Aṅga (Diṭṭhivāya) is presumably incomplete since it contains the fragmentary bequeathed teachings of Mahāvīra which were originally composed of 14 Puvvas ("ancient, primal" [text]).

The canon is usually not recognized by the Digambara Jains.



References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Agam
  2. Aṅga
  3. Chedasūtra
  4. Digambara
  5. Mahāvīra
  6. Sanskrit
  7. Upāṅga
  8. Uvaṅga
  9. Āgama
  10. Śvetāmbara
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 8437 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: