Multiple Nature Of Reality

Published: 30.04.2009
Updated: 02.07.2015

Deccan Herald

The world, today, is well versed with concepts of relativity, equality and co-existence. The principle behind these words, the philosophical thought and wisdom that gleams through them is called Anekanta [multiple nature of reality] and Syadvad [the relative nature of knowledge].

Anekanta is an eye. With the two physical eyes man is able to see the gross world but is not able to see or understand the inner world. What is the other person thinking? Where, why and in what state is he thinking? What and how is he doing? And in what state is he while saying what he is saying? Unless these factors are known, understood and evaluated, justice can neither be meted out nor can the changes that take place in the material world be understood.

The seeing eye of Anekanta is the best philosophical process with which one can understand the changes, both gross and subtle, which occur in the material world. With this process, passions can be assuaged and embers of rebellion can be appeased showing the peace path to world.

Anekanta has one rule: co-existence of opposites. Not only is existence in pairs, they have to be opposing pairs. In the entire world of nature, in the entire universe of existence, opposing pairs exist. Like wisdom with ignorance, happiness and sadness and loss of consciousness and awakening. Opposing pairs define Karmashastra (the philosophy of Karma).

Our life is based on opposing pairs.  According to Hatha Yoga, life is defined as the combination of inhalation and exhalation. There are five types of Pranas. Of them one is Prana and the other is Apana. Prana is an energy that flows in the frontal part of the body with its vibrations reaching the navel. Apana moves along the back of the body. As long as the opposing directions are maintained there is life. When this order is broken, life is broken. When the two directional movements become one, life comes to an end.

There are two centres in the body: the Gyan Kendra (centre of wisdom) and Kam Kendra (centre of passion). Both of them are opposites. The centre of passion weighs down the consciousness. The centre of wisdom raises the level of the consciousness. One is upward moving and the other is downward moving. The up and down movement of the consciousness is in opposition to each other. Life rests on these two movements.

Deccan Herarld - by the efforts of Mr. Lalit Garg
Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Anekanta
  2. Body
  3. Centre of Wisdom
  4. Consciousness
  5. Deccan Herald
  6. Gyan
  7. Gyan Kendra
  8. Hatha Yoga
  9. Kam
  10. Karma
  11. Kendra
  12. Lalit Garg
  13. Prana
  14. Syadvad
  15. Yoga
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1520 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: