Published: 21.03.2007
Updated: 07.04.2016
Bhaav, Bhaava, Bhāva, भाव
Status of being, a subjective becoming, states of mind
State of the soul
There are 3 typs of bhava:
  1. a form of the jeeva according to Umasvati's view - Bhava Jivasya Satattvam
  2. a state of the soul resulting from realization (audayika), which results from karma
  3. its natural course is known as parinamik bhava.

Top to bottom view:

  • soul
  • kashaya
  • adhyavasaya
  • leshya (+ chitta)
  • bhava
According the astrology, the planets exercise their influence. However, they do not influence us directly but the radiation emanating from them influences our bhavas.


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Adhyavasaya
  2. Audayika
  3. Aura
  4. Chitta
  5. Jeeva
  6. Karma
  7. Kashaya
  8. Leshya
  9. Mahavira's Scripture Of Health
  10. Soul
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 17042 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: