Published: 23.04.2007
Updated: 06.05.2020
Laishya, Laishyas, Leshyas, Lesya, Leśya, Leśyā, Lēśyā

psychic colours, spiritual mental colourisation

Leshyas are mental stages of transformation when the mind comes in contact with different substances, one’s mental state changes accordingly. On account of its association with various types of aggregates of atoms, the mind undergoes different transformation experiences and varied influences. They are called Leshya. Mental state assumes the colour of that type of substance in whose vicinity the mind happens to be.

[Internal view]:

Leshya is the agency, which transforms the imperceptible micro-vibrations of the primal drives into perceptible forces, which produce appropriate conditions in the neuro-endocrine sys­tem, thus acting as a liaison between the spiritual self and the physical self of a living organism.

In Jainism, there is a great deal of importance given to the doctrine of leshya. Leshya refers to the state of mind which is reflected in our activities and plays an important role in the bondage of karma and the release therefrom. According to Jain philosophy, the kind of vibrations produced by Karma Sharir, the karmic body, determines the nature of the feelings originating from it. The nature of feelings determines the radiation of the tejas (radiance) - atoms. The quality of radiation creates its own kind of environment, and the nature of the environment in turn determines our current of feeling and this current is called Leshya.

Leshya is also known as coloration of the soul. The 6 colorations of the soul are differentiated between Dharma Leshyas - auspicious colorations - and Adharma Leshyas - inauspicious colorations. Dharma Leshyas lie in the upper part of the body above the navel, Adharma Leshyas in the lower part below the navel.

Dharma Leshyas

Adharma Leshyas

Tejo Leshya


Krishna Leshya


Padma Leshya


Neel Leshya


Shukla Leshya


Kapot Lehsya


The truths, which the Jain thinkers tried to expound in the light of the six colourations of the soul, have been expounded by the Hathayoga School of philosophers in the light of the cakras or plexuses and glands in the human body. Both the schools have framed their own definitions. There is no basic difference between these schools except in matters of definition. According to Hathayoga there are three cakras in the upper part of the body above the navel - anahata, ajna, sahasraraand - and three in the lower part below the navel - muladhara, svadhisthana and manipura cakras.

[External view]:

 Aura - Abhamandala 









References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Adharma
  2. Adharma Leshyas
  3. Aura
  4. Body
  5. Cakras
  6. Dharma
  7. Dharma Leshyas
  8. Dhyana
  9. Environment
  10. Jain Philosophy
  11. Jainism
  12. Karma
  13. Karma Sharir
  14. Karmic Body
  15. Krishna
  16. Krishna Leshya
  17. Mahavira's Scripture Of Health
  18. Muladhara
  19. Neel Leshya
  20. Padma Leshya
  21. Perception of Psychic Colours
  22. Preksa
  23. Psychic Colours
  24. Sharir
  25. Shukla
  26. Shukla Leshya
  27. Soul
  28. Tejo Leshya
  29. The Mysteries Of Mind
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 25635 times.
© 1997-2024 HereNow4U, Version 4.56
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: