Introduction To Jainism: The Higher Worlds

Published: 11.10.2008
Updated: 11.10.2008

The higher world, like the lower world, measures seven rajjus from top to bottom. As we see in Figure 5 the heavens are arranged in the shape of a column. There are 63 heavens, divided into four groups. In the very highest part, against the “roof” of the universe above the 63 heavens, is a region which “from below” looks like an inverted umbrella: siddhaloka, where the fully self-liberated beings abide. Siddhaloka is not a heaven, because it is elevated beyond every imperfect state of existence.

From the Middle World upwards there are respectively 16 (or 12, depending on the literary source) kalpa heavens, 9 graiveyaka, 9 anudiśa and 5 anuttara (= unsurpassable) heavens. The topmost heaven, just below Siddhaloka, is called Sarvārthasiddhi, “perfect in every aspiration.” The lowest group of 16 (or 12) heavens is usually divided into 8 (or 6) horizontal layers of pairs. The lowest two are situated only one hair’s breadth above the top of Meru.


Prakrit Bharti Academy
Society for Scientific & Ethical Living
13-A, Main Malviya Nagar, Jaipur-302017
Phone: 0141 -2524827, 2520230

First Edition, 2006
ISBN No. 81-89698-09-5

Translated and revised edition of:
" Jainisme - Een introductie"

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Graiveyaka
  2. Kalpa
  3. Meru
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 2038 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.07
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: