Acharanga Bhasyam: (6) Śruta-Skandha (Parts)

Published: 10.09.2010
Updated: 02.07.2015

In the Samavāyāṅga, two Śruta-skandhas (parts) have been attributed to the Ācārāṅga,[1]  which is also called Brahmacaryādhyayana. In the Samavāyāṅga, its chapters are called 'Nava Brahmacarya'.[2] The Ācārāṅga Niryukti mentions it as consisting of nine Brahmacaryādhyayanas [3]. The second part of the ' Ācārāṅga ' is Āyāracūlā. This proves that the description of Dvādasāṅgi as found in the Samavāyāṅga is a composition which dates back to Āyāracūlā. The Ācārāṅga did not have any division prior to this. This happened only after Āyāracūlā was composed by Bhadrabāhu.

The Niryuktikāra has given 10 synonyms of the Ācārāṅga.[4] They are Āyāra, Ācāra, Āgāla, Āsāsa, Āyarisa, Aṅga, Āinna, Ājāi and Āmokkha.


Jump to occurrence in text


Jump to occurrence in text


Jump to occurrence in text


Jump to occurrence in text


Jain Vishwa Bharati

Ladnun- 341 306 (Raj.) India © Jain Vishva Bharti

ISBNS 1-7195-74-4

First Edition:2001

Courtesy :
Shree Chhotulal Sethia Charitable Trust Sethia House, 23/24,
Radha Bazar Street, Kolkata-700 001 (INDIA)

Printed by:
Shree Vardhaman Press
Delhi (INDIA)

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Aṅga
  2. Niryukti
  3. Sūtra
  4. Ācāra
  5. Ācārāṅga
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1644 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: