An Introduction To Jainism: [19] Ātmavāda (Doctrine of Soul)

Published: 15.12.2008
Updated: 15.12.2008
Ātmavāda (Doctrine of Soul)

The Jain philosophy believes in the existence of the 'soul'. Consciousness is an eternal characteristic of the soul.

There are two types of soul:

  1. Mundane Soul
  2. Liberated Soul

Mundane Soul is known as Baddha Jīva and Liberated Soul is known as Mukta Jīva. In the former state, the soul has to undergo births and rebirths, in the latter one, the soul is free from all kinds of bondages. In the mundane state, there is both evolution and devolution, where as in the liberated soul there prevails infinite knowledge, infinite bliss and infinite power.

The jīva in the mundane state extends itself in the body, equivalent to the size of the body. The souls of an elephant and a tiny insect are however equal. The body of an elephant is huge and that of an insect tiny. The difference in the size of their bodies does not affect the equality of souls, each soul being consisted of the same number of predeśas, which is definite.

Souls are infinite in number. There is no difference among them from the view point of consciousness. Infinite potentiality exists in each living being.


JVB Ladnun © 2007 Editor: Prof. Muni Mahendra Kumar

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Baddha jīva
  2. Body
  3. Consciousness
  4. Jain Philosophy
  5. Jīva
  6. Mukta jīva
  7. Predeśas
  8. Soul
  9. Ātmavāda
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 2294 times.
© 1997-2024 HereNow4U, Version 4.56
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: