Sacred Books of the East

Published: 11.05.2011
Updated: 22.05.2011
Sacred Books of the East

The Sacred Books of the East is a monumental 50-volume set of English translations of Asian religious writings, edited by Max Müller and published by the Oxford University Press between 1879 and 1910. It incorporates the essential sacred texts of Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism, Zoroastrianism, Jainism, and Islam.

  • All of the 50 volumes have been converted into electronic versions and are available at The Internet Sacred Text Archive
  • In terms of Jainism the volumes 22 and 45, containing Jaina Sūtras translated by Hermann Jacobi, are of special interest.
Max Müller
Oxford University Press
Edition: 1879 - 1910 (first edition)


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Buddhism
  2. Hermann Jacobi
  3. Hinduism
  4. Islam
  5. JAINA
  6. Jacobi
  7. Jaina
  8. Jaina Sūtras
  9. Jainism
  10. Max Müller
  11. Taoism
  12. Zoroastrianism
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 5223 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: