Published: 08.05.2006
Updated: 04.09.2015
Purvas, Pūrva

Literally, the Sanskrit for 'ancient’.

The term can mean either:
  1. a measurement of 84,000 x 84,000 years
  2. the scriptures of the 24 Jinas' preaching and long since lost.

The 14 Pūrvas held all the knowledge in the universe and the few who knew them were given the exalted status of śruta-kevalin - ‘scripturally omniscient person'. In line with the prophecy of the last Jina, Mahāvīra, knowledge of the Pūrvas died out within a thousand years of his liberation. Parts of the Pūrvas are said to form elements of later philosophy and scriptures.

However, a detailed table of contents of the Drstivada and the Pūrvas has survived in the fourth Anga, Samavāyānga and Nandīsūtra. Furthermore, certain portions of Drstivada and Pūrvas is said to have survived in Satkhandāgama and Kasāyaprabhrta, especially the doctrine of Karma.

      1. Utpaad Pūrva - Living (Jiv), non-living (Ajiv), and its modes (Paryāya);
      2. Agrayaniya Pūrva - Nine realities (Navtattva), six substances (Shad-dravya), etc.;
      3. Viryapravada Pūrva - Relating to energy of soul, non-living, etc.;
      4. Asti Nasti Pravada Pūrva - Multiplicity of views (Anekāntvād), Saptabhangi, etc.;
      5. Jnana Prāvada Pūrva - Five types of knowledge and three types of ignorance, etc.;
      6. Satya Pravada Pūrva - Relating to truth, restraint, silence (Maun), speech, etc.;
      7. Atma Pravada Pūrva - Analysis of soul from different view points (naya);
      8. Karma Pravada Pūrva - Theory of karma, its bondage, influx, its nature, fruition, shedding;
      9. Pratyakhyana Pūrva - Giving up (Pachchhakhān), restraint, vows, detachment, etc.;
      10. Vidyā Pravāda Pūrva - Expertise (vidyā), exceptional abilities, practice,;
      11. Kalyana Pravada Pūrva - Spiritual alertness (Apramād) and laziness (Pramād);
      12. Prana Pravada Pūrva - Ten types of life substances or vitalities (Prān), life span, etc.;
      13. Kriyā Visala Pūrva - Skills, 64 arts of women, 84 arts of men, etc.;
      14. Lokbindus ā Pūrva - Three parts of universe including heavens and hells, mathematics, etc.


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Anekāntvād
  2. Anga
  3. Atma
  4. Jainpedia
  5. Jina
  6. Jiv
  7. Jnana
  8. Karma
  9. Kriyā
  10. Mahāvīra
  11. Navtattva
  12. Naya
  13. Omniscient
  14. Paryāya
  15. Prana
  16. Pratyakhyana
  17. Sanskrit
  18. Saptabhangi
  19. Satya
  20. Soul
  21. Vidyā
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 9792 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: