Kolkata ►Celebration of Universal Forgiveness Day 2004

Published: 14.11.2004
Updated: 09.11.2010

An universal forgiveness day was celebrated on Sunday, 3rd October, at the Terapanth Bhavan in south Kolkata.

Like the years before it was organised by members of all branches of Jain sects in Kolkata, Digambara and Svetambara. Their regular meetings are held in the organisation of Jain Sabha [meeting, gathering].

Traditionally the function took place after the completion of Paryushan and the Daslakshan festival.
At the opening a message of Acharya Mahaprajna was read out.

The three saints, Sadhvi Kanchan Prabhaji, disciple of Acharya Mahaprajna, Murtipujak Acharya Vijaypadamprabh Surisvarji, and Sthanakvasi saint Girish Muniji, elaborated the importance of forgiveness and friendship. They all referred to the message of Lord Mahavira to treat all creatures with amity and to let them live without fear like oneself wants to live.

From left to right:
1.Sadhvi Shree Manjurekhaji - 2.Sadhvi Shree Kanchan Prabhaji - 3.Acharya Vijaypadamprabh Surisvarji - 4.Muni Girish Kumarji

At the social level many Shravaks and Shravikas, Surendra Dugar, trustee of the Jai-Tulsi Foundation and Mahasabha, Mr. Vishnukant Shastri, former governor of Uttar Pradesh, Harakh Chand Kankaria, president of Jain Sabha Kolkata, Surendra Kumar Banthia, representative of the Sthanakvasi Jain community, Pannalal Kochar, president of the girl section of Jain Vidyalaya Howrah, Tilok Chand Daga, president of Jain Sanskriti Sansad, Bhupat Bhai Kamani and Ashwin Desai from the Gujarati Jain community, and Anand Chand Oswal from the Kolkata Digambara Jain community, attended the activities.

From left to right:
1. Sri Tilokchand Daga - 2.Sri Pannalal Kochar - 3. Sri Surendra Banthia - 4.Sri Harakh Chnad Kankaria - 5. Sri Vishnukant Shastri - 6.Sri Surendra Dugar


Our correspondent,Sushil Bafana, from Kolkatta, India


Click on categories below to activate or deactivate navigation filter.

  • Jaina Sanghas
    • Shvetambar
      • Terapanth
        • Share this page on:
          Page glossary
          Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
          1. Acharya
          2. Acharya Mahaprajna
          3. Anand
          4. Daslakshan
          5. Digambara
          6. Disciple of Acharya Mahaprajna
          7. Fear
          8. Howrah
          9. Kolkata
          10. Mahasabha
          11. Mahavira
          12. Muni
          13. Murtipujak
          14. Oswal
          15. Paryushan
          16. Pradesh
          17. Sabha
          18. Sadhvi
          19. Shravaks
          20. Shravikas
          21. Sthanakvasi
          22. Sushil Bafana
          23. Svetambara
          24. Terapanth
          25. Terapanth Bhavan
          26. Uttar Pradesh
          27. Vidyalaya
          Page statistics
          This page has been viewed 3362 times.
          © 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
          Contact us
          Social Networking

          HN4U Deutsche Version
          Today's Counter: