Published: 22.08.2004
Updated: 22.04.2012
Parushana, Paryusan, Paryusana, Paryushan Mahaparva, Paryushan Parva, Paryushana, Paryuṣaṇa
Paryushan Parva (Swetambar Tradition)
Dash Lakshan Parva (Digambar Tradition)

one of the most festive days in Jainism.

  1. Pari vasan [to staty within/around consciouness]
  2. Pari ushan

    Pari [all kinds]
    ushan [to burn]

    to burn (shed) our all types of karmas.

    To shed our karmas we do twelve different types of austerities including fasting.

    Another meaning of ushan is to stay closer.

    To stay closer to our own soul from all directions and to stay absorbed in our own-self (soul), we do Svadhyaya (self-study), meditation, austerities, etc.,

    3. Pari + upshamana. Upshamana = to suppress.

    To suppress our passions (kashayas - anger, ego, deceit and greed) from all direction

Parva [auspicious day]

The real purpose of the Paryushan is to purify our soul by staying closer to our own soul, to look at our own faults, to ask for forgiveness for the mistakes we have committed, and take vows to minimize our faults.

We try to forget about the needs of our body (like food) and our business so that we can concentrate on our-self.

To ask for forgiveness is the toughest thing to do.

Michchami Dukkadam:

Therefore, our great Acharyas have said: “Kshama Viram Bhushanam, Kshamavani Michchha Mi Dukkadam” - To ask for forgiveness is a great quality of the brave ones and if I have committed any mistake, knowingly or unknowingly, I ask for your forgiveness.

There are several great aphorisms (Sutras) to ask for forgiveness with the unity of the body, speech and mind, and one of them is as follows:

Khamemi Savve Jiva, Savve Jiva Khamantu Mi
Mitti Me Savva bhuesu, Veram majjham na Kenai.

I forgive all the living beings of the universe, and may all the living-beings forgive me for my faults.
I do not have any animosity towards anybody, and I have friendship for all living beings.

The process of shedding our karmas really begins by asking for forgiveness with true feelings, and to take some vows not to repeat mistakes. The quality of the forgiveness requires humility (vinay - absence of ego) and suppression of anger.

Practicing: Pratikraman

Svetambar Jains

celebrate eight days of Paryushan and the last day is called Samvatsari.


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Acharyas
  2. Anger
  3. Body
  4. Dash Lakshan
  5. Dash Lakshan Parva
  6. Deceit
  7. Digambar
  8. Fasting
  9. Greed
  10. Jainism
  11. Jiva
  12. Karmas
  13. Kashayas
  14. Lakshan
  15. Meditation
  16. Michchami Dukkadam
  17. Parva
  18. Pratikraman
  19. Samvatsari
  20. Soul
  21. Svadhyaya
  22. Svetambar
  23. Swetambar
  24. Vinay
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 33531 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: