Published: 02.11.2011
Updated: 17.12.2012
Belagaavi, Belagavi, Belgaon, बेळगांव, ಬೆಳಗಾವಿ

Belgaum, Karnataka India

View Larger Map


Kannada: ಬೆಳಗಾವಿ Belagaavi
Marathi: बेळगांव Belgaon

is a city and a municipal corporation in Belgaum district in the state of Karnataka, India. It is the fourth largest city of the state of Karnataka, the first three being Bangalore, Mysore, Hubli-Dharwad.

It is situated nearly 2,500 ft (762 m) above sea-level and is the headquarters of Belgaum district, which borders the states of Maharashtra and Goa. Belgaum is also the headquarters for the Belgaum division. The division comprises the districts of Bagalkot, Belgaum, Bijapur, Dharwad - Hubli, Gadag, Haveri, and Uttara Kannada. The Government of Karnataka has proposed making Belgaum the second capital of the State of Karnataka with the recently upcoming second state administrative building Suvarna Vidhana Soudha.


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Bangalore
  2. Dharwad
  3. Gadag
  4. Hubli
  5. Karnataka
  6. Maharashtra
  7. Mysore
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 4643 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: