Acharya Tulsi

Published: 07.03.2018
Updated: 06.05.2021
Acharya Shree Tulsi, Acharya Shri Tulsi, Acharya Sri Tulsiji, Acharya Tuleesi, Acharyya Shrimad Tulasiramji Maharaj, Ganadhipati Sri Tulsi, Ganadhipati Tulsi, Gurudev Shri Tulsi, Swami Tulasiramji Maharaj, Tulasi, Tulasī, Tulsi, Tulsigani, Ācārya Tulsi, Ācārya Śrl Tulsi, आचार्य तुलसी


Born: 20.10.1914, Ladnun, Rajasthan, India
Passed away: 23.06.1997, Gangasahar

Terapanth Info

Diksha: V. S. 1982 Paush Krishna Pachmi, Ladnun by Acharya Kalugani


Date of Birth V.S. 1971. Kartik Shukla Dwitiya
Place of Birth Ladnun Marwad Zilla Nagaur
Father's Name Jhoomarmalji
Mother's Name Vandanaji
Marital Status Unmarried
Gotra Khater
Caste Beesa Oswal
Teacher (Guru) A. Shri Kaluganiji
Appointment of Successor and Place (Yuvacharya) V. S. 1993. Bhadravshukla Tritiya, Gangapur
Appointment as Acharya and Place V. S. 1993. Bhadra V. Shukla Navmi, Gangapur
Number of Sadhu & Sadhvi at the time of appointment as Acharya Sadhu: 139
Sadhvi: 333
New Diksha of Sadhu & Sadhvis during Acharya period. Sadhu: 262 Present: 136
Sadhvi: 622 Present: 505
Date of passing away (Devlok) 23rd June 1997 at Gangasahar (Rajasthan)
Tenure as Acharya 57 years. Pad Visarjan
Maximum Chaturmas Ladnun 10
Sadhvi Pramukha during Acharya period Sadhvi Jhamkuji, Sadhvi Ladanji, At present Mahashramani Sadhvi Kanakprabhaji

Acharya Tulsiji's passage of 84 years and 62,000 miles on foot, came to an end on June 23, 1997.

A short overview in CE

Birth 1914
Initiation & Ordination 1926
Accession to Acharyaship 1936
Launching the Anuvrat Movement 1949
Honoured with the status of Yugapradhana 1971
Honoured by Bharatjyoti Award 1986
Honoured with Degree of D.Lit. 1993
Honoured with Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration 1993
Honoured with Ganadhipati 1993
DOD 1997

Acharya Tulsi Brief Profile

Acharya Tulsi (October 20, 1914 – June 23, 1997) was a prominent Jain religious leader. He was the founder of the Anuvrata movement  and the Jain Vishva Bharti Institute, Ladnun and the author of over one hundred books.

Acharya Mahapragya and Sadhvi Kanakprabha were his disciples.

Acharya Tulsi was born on 20th of October 1914 in Ladnun, in present Nagaur district of Rajasthan, to Vadana and Jhumarmal Khater. Acharya Kalugani, then the leader of the Svetambar Terapanth Sangh, greatly influenced Tulsi. Tulsi was initiated into monkhood at age 11 in 1936.

Kalugani nominated Tulsi to be his successor in Gangapur at Rang Bhawan-the house of Ranglal Hiran, making him the ninth Acharya of the Terapanth Sangha. During his leadership of the Sangha, he initiated more than 776 monks and nuns.

In the 1970s, Tulsi began researching, compiling translations and commentaries on the Jain Agamas. Tulsi, along with Yuvacharya Mahapragya, sought to rediscover Jain meditation and termed it Preksha Dhyan.

In 1949 he launched the Anuvrat Movement  (anu = small, vrat=vow, Anuvratas are the limited version of the Mahavratas for the monks), based on the five Jain principles Truth, Nonviolence, Non possession, Non-stealing and Celibacy as applied in their limited version for the lay people. The movement encouraged people to apply the Anuvratas in their personal lives, even when dealing with non-religious aspects of the society. The movement also held that Dharma is not for ensuring happiness in the future lives but also for achieving happiness in the present life.

The movement has continued under the leadership of his disciple Yuvacharya Mahapragya. He was raised to the rank of the Acharya by Acharya Tulsi himself.

In 1948 Tulsi established the Parmarthik Shikshan Sanstha, a spiritual training centre for females aspirants who wanted to lead the Jain monastic lifestyle. Jain Vishva Bharati Institute, an education and research institute was established in 1991 with inspiration from Acharya Tulsi.

Traditionally Jain monks have been prohibited from travelling overseas. Tulsi developed the Saman Order around 1980 in an effort to spread the preachings of Jainism worldwide. This order follows the lifestyle of Sadhus and Sadhvis with two exceptions: They are granted permission to use means of transportation. They are allowed to take food which is prepared for them. This order can be termed as the link between the normal households and the Jain monks and nun.

Jain Monks and nuns remain under a vow of moving on foot all their life. In Tulsi's lifetime he covered more than 70,000 km.  His major wanderings included:

1949 : From Bikaner to Jaipur, Delhi, Haryana, Punjab and back to Rajasthan.

1955 : From Rajasthan to Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh and back to Rajasthan.

1958 : From Rajasthan to Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Bengal, again Bihar, Uttar pradesh, Delhi, Haryana and back to Rajasthan.

1966 : From Rajasthan to Gujarat, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry, Kerala, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Orissa, Madhya Pradesh and back to Rajasthan.

1974 : From Rajasthan to Haryana, Delhi, Punjab, and back to Rajasthan.

1981 : From Rajasthan to Haryana, Delhi and back to Rajasthan.

1987 : From Rajasthan to Haryana and Delhi and back to Rajasthan.
In the course of these travels, Tulsi visited numerous communities and preached to Anuvrat-oriented life.

Acharya Tulsi proposed harmonious cooperation among various Jain sects.

We pay sincere tribute to the Legendary Saint.

  • Acharyas of Terapanth


List of Publications @ HN4U


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Acharya
  2. Acharya Kalugani
  3. Acharya Mahapragya
  4. Acharya Tulsi - A Peacemaker par Excellence
  5. Acharyas
  6. Acharyas of Terapanth
  7. Agamas
  8. Andhra Pradesh
  9. Anu
  10. Anuvrat
  11. Anuvrat Movement
  12. Anuvrata
  13. Anuvratas
  14. Bhadra
  15. Bihar
  16. Bikaner
  17. Celibacy
  18. Chaturmas
  19. Chaturmas Ladnun
  20. Cooperation
  21. Delhi
  22. Dharma
  23. Dhyan
  24. Diksha
  25. Dwitiya
  26. Gandhi
  27. Gangapur
  28. Gangasahar
  29. Gotra
  30. Gujarat
  31. Guru
  32. Haryana
  33. Indira Gandhi Award
  34. Jain Vishva Bharati
  35. Jain Vishva Bharati Institute
  36. Jain Vishva Bharti
  37. Jainism
  38. Jaipur
  39. Kalugani
  40. Karnataka
  41. Kerala
  42. Krishna
  43. Ladnun
  44. Madhya Pradesh
  45. Mahapragya
  46. Maharashtra
  47. Mahavratas
  48. Meditation
  49. Nagaur
  50. Nonviolence
  51. Orissa
  52. Oswal
  53. Parmarthik Shikshan Sanstha
  54. Paush
  55. Pradesh
  56. Preksha
  57. Preksha Dhyan
  58. Punjab
  59. Rajasthan
  60. Sadhu
  61. Sadhus
  62. Sadhvi
  63. Sadhvi Kanakprabha
  64. Sadhvi Pramukha
  65. Sadhvis
  66. Saman
  67. Sangh
  68. Sangha
  69. Shukla
  70. Svetambar
  71. Tamil
  72. Tamil Nadu
  73. Terapanth
  74. Uttar Pradesh
  75. Yuvacharya
  76. Yuvacharya Mahapragya
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 76492 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: