Published: 25.12.2003
Updated: 24.01.2012
Asanas, Āsana, āsana

The meaning of this Sanskrit term in the Yoga system of Indian philosophy is 'sitting posture' or 'seat'.

It describes different bodily yoga postures assumed to purify the flow of energy in the body for freeing it from blockades which might invoke health injuries.
It is the third of the eight prescribed stages by Patanjali intended to lead the aspirant to Samadhi, the spiritual aim of yoga.
There are 84 different Asanas, about 32 have been enumerated as the most important, of which perhaps the most common is Padmasana ('lotus posture').

See also:

  • Yogasana


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Body
  2. Padmasana
  3. Patanjali
  4. Samadhi
  5. Sanskrit
  6. Yoga
  7. Yogasana
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 14432 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: