Awaken Consciousness

Published: 21.05.2007
Updated: 15.02.2008

Detachment Holds The Key To Salvation

Life has two dimensions. When transformation takes place the influence of the material world decreases and our consciousness become victorious. Then, our way of living changes. Every person should ask whether he wishes to win or lose. This is an internal struggle.

One must know in what condition he or she is living. It is possible that up to the age of 30-40 years, a person may not think about the development of his inner consciousness. Some people might think of this development earlier, but after crossing the age of 40, it is necessary to rechannelise our thought processes. That is a milestone in our lives. After this age, the journey of our life starts declining. The potential of our senses weakens gradually. This is explained elaborately in the Acharang Sutra.

A great deal of information can also be found in Ayurveda. The stages of life have been delineated, each stage lasting for 10 years. Up to 40 years there is growth and development, after which decay begins.

Why do I wear spectacles? My eyesight was good. At the age of 40, a team of eye-specialists came from Bikaner Hospital, Rajasthan. They advised me to use spectacles, as I have to study and read a lot, and cautioned me that otherwise my eyesight would weaken. I began to use spectacles to protect my eyesight.

At the ago of 40, a person should be a change in the use of senses, in the state of mind and the food consumed. A 20-year-old youth can digest rich and heavy food easily, but if a 60-year-old consumes the same food, he will need to consult a doctor. At this stage, if we focus on our inner development, it is expected that our attachment will reduce.

In psychology, there is classification of basic instincts. If we look from the spiritual point of view, there is only one basic instinct - 'raga' (attachment). All the other instincts belong to its family. When there is attachment towards someone, there is the possibility of aversion towards another. Aversion is the product of attachment.

Due to attraction, the bond of attachment increases and we get entangled. We get bound either to a house or to money, a person or material things. If we are tied up with any of these, our mind believes that we cannot live without them. This is the bondage of attachment.

Where there is growth of consciousness of detachment, there will be no bondage. Our consciousness would be free, liberated and independent. Here are two different states: a state of bondage and bondage and where there is detachment, there is freedom.

How can the consciousness of detachment be developed?' For this, it is necessary to practice kayotsarg (relaxation with self-awareness) and bheda vigyan (discrimination between soul and body). The ultimate objective of Kayotsarg is bheda vigyan: Giving up of attachment towards the body and senses, and renouncing the sense of 'mine'.

Shavasan and Kayotsarg are not similar. Kayotsarg is not only relaxing the body. While it also entails keeping the body stable and still in the initial stage of kayotsarg, its the ultimate result is renunciation of attachment. To give up attachment towards, and identification with, one's body and senses, is the real essence of kayotsarg, where the separation of body and soul is experienced. You come to know that the soul is different form the body.

We must pay special attention to kayotsarg. It is a very important technique of Preksha meditation. It is the first step as well as the last stage of preksha meditation. Our spiritual journey begins with kayotsarg and ends with kayotsarg.

Gunastham means 14 stages of spiritual progress of a soul. When a soul moves from the 13th gunasthan to the 14th gunasthan (last stage), the state of real kayotsarg is attained. Kayotsarg is the best solution to awaken the consciousness of detachment.


Daily Pioneer - 21.05.2007 - by the efforts of Mr. Lalit Garg.

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. 14 Stages
  2. Acharang
  3. Ayurveda
  4. Bheda
  5. Bikaner
  6. Body
  7. Consciousness
  8. Gunastham
  9. Gunasthan
  10. Kayotsarg
  11. Lalit Garg
  12. Meditation
  13. Preksha
  14. Preksha Meditation
  15. Rajasthan
  16. Soul
  17. Sutra
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1582 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: