Published: 14.10.2016

The Virya (3) (spiritual energy) of the Jīva (soul), which is the cause of bringing about changes in the eight states of Karma, viz., Bandhana (bondage), Saṃkramaṇa (transference), Udvarttanā (augmentation), Apavarttanā (attenuation), Udīraṇā (premature rise), Upaśama (subsidence), Niddhati (incapacitation of other Karmakaraṇas (spiritual energy qua transformations of Karma) except Udvartana and Apavartana), Nikācanā (incapacitation of all other Karmakaraṇas).

baṃdhaṇa saṃkamaṇuvvaṭṭanā ya avavaṭṭaṇā udīraṇayā.

uvasāmaṇā nihattī nikāyaṇāca tti karaṇāiṃ...

(Kapra 2)

karmaviṣayaṃ karaṇaṃ- jīvavīryaṃ bandhana- saṃkramaṇādinimittabhūtaṃ karmakaranam.

(Bhaga 6.5 Vṛ)


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Apavartana
  2. JAINA
  3. Jaina
  4. Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
  5. Jīva
  6. Karma
  7. Nikācanā
  8. Soul
  9. Udīraṇā
  10. Upaśama
  11. Virya
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 363 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: