Published: 26.02.2011
Updated: 02.07.2015

Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

View Larger Map


Telugu: హైదరాబాద్
Urdu: حیدرآباد

Hyderabad is the fourth largest city in India and capital city of the Indian state of Telangana in South India.
Currently, Hyderabad is also the capital city for Andhra Pradesh, as per the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014, an arrangement that is scheduled to last for a maximum of ten years.
Hyderabad occupies 650 square kilometres (250 sq mi), along the banks of the Musi River a tributary of Krishna River, it has a population of about 6.8 million and a metropolitan population of about 7.75 million, making it the fourth most populous city and sixth most populous urban agglomeration in India.
A Survey by Telangana State Government, 'Samagra kutumba survey' on August 19, 2014, reveals that Hyderabad's population has crossed 12 million. At an average altitude of 542 metres (1,778 ft), much of Hyderabad is situated on hilly terrain around artificial lakes, including Hussain Sagar - predating the city's founding - north of the then city centre.


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Andhra Pradesh
  2. Krishna
  3. Pradesh
  4. Sagar
  5. Telangana
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 6545 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.52
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: