Ghati karma

Published: 09.12.2008
Updated: 12.06.2012
Ghāti Karmas, Ghātiyā karma, Ghātī karma

The karma which veils the fundamental attribute such as knowledge, intuition etc.;

There are four ghātī karmas:

1 Gyanavarniya Karma

knowledge-veiling karma

2 Darsanavaraniya Karma

intuition-veiling karma

3 Mohaniya Karma

deluding karma

4 Antaraya Karma

obstructing karma

The soul which annihilates these four ghātī karmas becomes omniscient, and attains emancipation at the end of life; it is necessarily in the form of pāpa; it is also the cause of new bondage of the pāpa.


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Antaraya
  2. Antaraya Karma
  3. Darsanavaraniya karma
  4. Gyanavarniya
  5. Gyanavarniya Karma
  6. Karma
  7. Karmas
  8. Mohaniya
  9. Mohaniya Karma
  10. Omniscient
  11. Pāpa
  12. Soul
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 3142 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.45
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: