business plan competitor analysis love writing paper how to write a good narrative essay divisional sales manager resume pleasedomyhomework com phd thesis on zno best personal statement writing service i forgot to do my homework in japanese elements of a good essay


Published: 13.11.2012


Sanskrit: ज्वालामालिनी jvālāmālinī "one wears a garland of bright flame" ('Jvālā' refers to the glow of fire, 'mālinī' implies one of bears the garlands).

According to Digambara tradition Jwalamalini is the Yakshini of the 8th Tirthankara Chandraprabha; her male companion is Yaksha Shyama. Jwalamalini was one of the most widely invoked Yakshinis in Karnataka during the early medieval period. In Shvetambara tradition the name of the Yakshini attending Chandraprabha is Bhrikuti (Bhṛkuṭi).

  • Jwalamalini is associated with the powers of mantras and yantras. Jain literature recognize her as Vahni Devi or the fire goddess. She appears in various Puranas, e.g. the Vayu Purana associates her with Shiva, the Brahmanda purana and the Matsya purana associate her with Shakti.
  • Her iconic forms depict her with flames issuing forth from her head. She is also described as adorned with rising flames of fire. Additionally, she carries a chakra, trishula, pennant with fish ensign, bow and arrow, 'pasa' rope, fruit and vara mudhra. She wear a crown with burning flames.
  • Jain scriptures narrate that she attained such an exalted position by fasting on Fridays of the Tamil month 'Adi' (i.e. Ashada of North Indian calendars). In South India Jain women take her example and undertake fasting on the Fridays of Tamil month Adi.
Idol of Jwalamalini at Leppada Basadi, Mudabidri


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Basadi
  2. Chakra
  3. Digambara
  4. Fasting
  5. Karnataka
  6. Mudabidri
  7. Puranas
  8. Sanskrit
  9. Shvetambara
  10. Shyama
  11. Tamil
  12. Tirthankara
  13. Yaksha
  14. Yakshini
  15. Yakshinis
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 6594 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: