Published: 21.03.2018

The third (and the highest) type of Yāvatkathika Anaśana (fasting-unto-death);

it is also called Prāyopagamana (Anaśana), in which the undertaker of the Anaśana renounces the intake of all the four kinds of aliment and keeps his body completely motionless in lying down posture like a (cut branch of) tree.

pādasyevopagamanam-aspandatayā'vasthānaṃ pādapopagamanam, idaṃ ca caturvidhāhāraparihāraniṣpannameva bhavati.

(AupaVṛ 71)

See - Prāyopagamana Anaśana.


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Anaśana
  2. Body
  3. JAINA
  4. Jaina
  5. Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 175 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: