Cāturyāma Dharma

Published: 11.01.2018

The monastic discipline prescribed in the form of the four vows, viz., Prāṇātipātaviramaṇa (abstinence from violence), Mṛṣāvādaviramaṇa (abstinence from telling lies). Adattādānaviramaṇa (abstinence from stealing) and Bāhyādānaviramaṇa (abstinence from sex) for the ascetic in the time-period of twenty-two (intervening) Tirthaṅkaras (ford-founders) (i.e., from 2nd to 23rd).

cāturyāmaḥ - mahāvratacatuṣṭayātmako yo dharmaḥ.

(U23.12 ŚāVṛ Pa 499)


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Adattādānaviramaṇa
  2. Discipline
  3. JAINA
  4. Jaina
  5. Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
  6. Violence
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 300 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: