Tattvartha Sutra: 08.10

Published: 05.07.2017
Updated: 06.07.2017

08.10 Darshanchāritramohaniyakashāynokashāyvedaniyāsyāstridwishodashnavbhedāh Samyaktvamith-yātvatadubhayāni Kashāynokashāyvanantānubandhyapratyākhyanpratyākhyānāvaransanjwalanvikalpāshchaikashah Krodhmānmāyālobhā Hāsyaratyaratishok-bhayjugupsāstripunnapunsakvedāh


दर्शनचारित्रमोहनीयकषायनो-कषायवेदनीयाख्यास्त्रिद्विषोडश-नवभेदाः सम्यक्त्वमिथ्यात्वतदुभयानि कषायनोकषायावनन्तानुबंध्यप्रत-्याख्यानप्रत्याख्यानवरणसंज्वलनविकल्पाश्चैकशः  क्रोध मानमायालोभा  हास्यरत्यरतिशोकभयजुगुप्सास्त्रीपुंन पुंसकवेदाः।8/10


दर्शनमोह, चारित्र मोह,कषाय वेदनीय और नो कषाय वेदनीय के क्रमशः तीन, दो,सोलह और नौ भेद है।
मिथ्यात्व मोह,मिश्र मोह,सम्यक्त्व मोहनीय ये 3 दर्शन मोहनीय के भेद है।
क्रोध, मान, माया और लोभ इन चार कषायों के अनंतानुबंधी, अप्रत्याख्यान, प्रत्याख्यान, और संज्वलन ये 4 प्रकार है। इस प्रकार कषाय के 16 प्रकार है।
हास्य, रति, अरति, भय,शोकः,जुगुप्सा स्त्रीवेद, पुरुष वेद और नपुंसक वेद ये नो कषाय के नौ प्रकार है।




Darshanmohaniya, Chāritramohaniya, Kashāy and Nokashāy are respectively of three, two, sixteen and nine sub­categories. Samyak, Mithyātva and Samyak-mithyātva are the sub-categories of Darshanamohaniya Karma; Kashāy and Nokashāy are the sub-categories of Chāritramohaniya Karma. Kashāy is of four types, viz. Krodh (anger), Man (pride arrogance), Māyā (deception) and Lobh (greed). Each of them is of four sub-categories, viz. Anantanubandhi (infinitely lasting), Apratyākhyānāvaraniya (which is not overcome even by taking vows to do so), Pratyākhyānāvaraniya (which can be overcome by taking the vows) and Sanjwalan (very subtle). Nokashāy is of nine sub-categories, viz. laughter, affection disaffection, lamentation, fear, disgust and sexual urge for male, female and either of them.

Mohaniya Karma is mainly of two categories, Darshanamohaniya meaning perception-deluding Karma and Chāritramohaniya meaning character-deluding Karma. The former is of three types. When one knows the truth, but does not have unflinching faith therein, it is termed as Samyakmohaniya; when one remains attached to the wrong beliefs, it is termed as Mithyātvamohaniya; when one stays in suspense and cannot decide what is right and what is wrong, it is termed as Mishramohaniya.

Chāritramohaniya is a function of Kashāy (defilement).

Anger, pride, deception and greed are the four kinds of defilement. They are subdivided into four types each, depending upon their intensity. The most intense one, which lasts for a very long time, is called Anantānubandhi. That, which is so intense that it cannot be overcome even by taking the vow to overcome it, is called Apratyākhyānavaraniya. That, which is not so intense and can be overcome by taking the vow for the purpose, is called Pratyākhyanāvaraniya. That, which is very subtle, is called Sanjwalan.

Multiplying the four main kinds of defilement with these four types results in sixteen types of defilement. In addition, there are nine semi-defiling instincts, viz. laughter affection, disaffection, lamentation, fear, despise, male sexuality, female sexuality and hermaphroditic sense. They are related to embodiment and are treated as minor flaws. As such, they are called Nokashāys (semi-defilements). Adding these nine to earlier mentioned 16 sub-categories it works out to a total of 25 sub-categories of Chāritramohaniya Karma.

Title: Tattvartha Sutra
Manu Doshi
Manu Doshi
Federation of Jain Associations in North America & Shrut Ratnakar
Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Anantanubandhi
  2. Anger
  3. Fear
  4. Greed
  5. Karma
  6. Krodh
  7. Lobh
  8. Mithyātva
  9. Mohaniya
  10. Mohaniya Karma
  11. Pride
  12. Samyak-Mithyātva
  13. Sanjwalan
  14. Sanskrit
  15. दर्शन
  16. सम्यक्त्व
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 472 times.
© 1997-2023 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: