essay writing my best friend phd thesis qualitative research how to do a dissertation literature review when writing an essay research papers data mining

Tattvartha Sutra: 08.08

Published: 02.07.2017

08.08 Chakshurachakshuravadhikevalānām Nidrānidrānidrāprachalāprachalāprachalāstyāngrddhivedaniyāni Cha


चक्षुरचक्षुरवधिकेवलानां निद्रानिद्रानिद्रा प्रचलाप्रचला प्रचलास्त्यानगृद्धिवेदनियानी च।


चक्षु दर्शनावरणीय, अचक्षु दर्शनावरणीय, अवधि दर्शनावरणीय, केवल दर्शनावरणीय रूप चार आवरण तथा निद्रा,निद्रा निद्रा, प्रचला, प्रचला प्रचला तथा स्त्यानगृद्धि रूप पांच वेदनीय ये 9 दर्शनावरणीय कर्म की  उत्तर प्रकृतियाँ है।




Chakshu, Achakshu, Avadhi, Kaivalya, Nidrā, Nidrā-nidrā, Prachalā, Prachala-prachalā and Styāngrddhi are the nine categories of Darshanāvaraniya Karma.

Darshan is mainly of four types, viz. Chakshudarshan meaning visual perception, Achakshudarshan meaning non-visual perception, Avadhidarshan meaning clairvoyant perception and Kevaldarshan meaning omni-perception. The Karmas that obscure them are respectively termed as Chakshu­darshanāvaraniya, Achakshudarshanāvaraniya, Avadhi-darshanāvaraniya and Kevatdarshanāvaraniya. Moreover, sleeping state also causes the loss of perception. Jainism lays five types of sleep that obscures perception. They are termed as Nidrā, Nidrā-nidrā, Prachalā, Prachalā-prachalā and Styāngrht. The phenomenon, in which one indulges in dozing, is called Nidrā Darshanāvaran; that, in which one goes to sound sleep, is called Nidrānidra Darshanāvaran; that, in which one drowses, is called Prachalā Darshanāvaran; that, in which one indulges in sleep-walking, is called Prachalā-prachalā Darshanāvaran; and that, in which one can perform during the sleep what he had conceived of in waking state, is called Styāngrhi Darshanāvaran.

Title: Tattvartha Sutra
Manu Doshi
Manu Doshi
Federation of Jain Associations in North America & Shrut Ratnakar
Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Achakshudarshan
  2. Avadhidarshan
  3. Chakshudarshan
  4. Darshan
  5. Jainism
  6. Kaivalya
  7. Karma
  8. Karmas
  9. Nidrā
  10. Sanskrit
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 306 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: