college essay dialogue typewriter wont feed paper dldav pitampura holiday homework best college admission essay mistakes college essay common app help already made essays online masters creative writing buy law essays uk

Tattvartha Sutra: 07.14-16

Published: 08.06.2017
Updated: 12.06.2017

07.14 Agāryanagārashcha


अगार्यनगारश्च ।


व्रती के अगारी (गृहस्थ) और अनगार (त्यागी) ये दो भेद है ।

07.15 Anuvrato'gārī




अणुव्रतधारी आगारी व्रती कहलाता है।

07.16 Digdeshānarthadandviratisāmāyikpaushadhopawāsopabhogparibhogparimānātīthisamvibhāgvratsam-pannashcha


दिग्देशानर्थदण्डविरतिसामायिकपौ-षधोपवासोपभोगपरिभोगपरिमाणाs- तिथिसंविभागव्रतसंपनाश्च।


वह व्रती(अणुव्रती) दिग व्रत, देशावकाशिक व्रत, अर्थदण्ड  विरमण व्रत, सामयिक, पौषधोपवास व्रत,भोगोपभोग परिमाणा व्रत तथा अतिथि संविभाग व्रत से भी संपन्न होता है।


English: One, who observes restraint, can be a layman or a monk. One observing Anuvrats belongs to the lay cadre. They need to be associated with seven subsidiary restraints called Digvirati, Deshvirati, Anarthadandvirati, Sāmāyik, Paushadhopavās, Bhogopabhogparimān and Atithisamvibhāg,

The restraints need to be observed by the monastic as well as lay people. Those in the lay cadre observe them in modified form, which are termed as Anuvrats (minor restraints). They need to be associated with following subsidiary restraints,

  1. Digvirati, which stipulates limiting the areas of operation in different directions,
  2. Deshvirati, which stipulates further restricting the areas of operation for a certain period,
  3. Anarthadandvirati, which stipulates averting the purposeless violence,
  4. Sāmāyik, which stipulates exercising of equanimity,
  5. Paushadhopavās, which stipulates practicing of the monastic code,
  6. Bhogopabhogparimān, which stipulates laying restrictions on the use and consumption of different articles and viī) Atithisamvibhāg, which stipulates serving the monks, nuns and others with the articles of use. Inclusive of the five minor restraints, there are thus twelve restraints for the laymen.

The order in which the subsidiary restraints are mentioned here is as per Digambar tradition. In Shwetāmbar tradition Bhogopabhogparimān is mentioned as second, in place of Deshvirati, while Deshvirati is put in the fifth place after Sāmāyik. There is significance behind that order. The seven subsidiary restraints can be divided into two categories. The first three are termed as auxiliary, while the remaining four are called disciplinary. The auxiliary restraints need to be observed for the entire life, while the disciplinary ones are to be practiced from time to time to a certain extent. Bhogopabhog-parimān falls in the former category, while Deshvirati belongs to the disciplinary category.

Title: Tattvartha Sutra
Manu Doshi
Manu Doshi
Federation of Jain Associations in North America & Shrut Ratnakar
Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Anuvrats
  2. Digambar
  3. Equanimity
  4. Sanskrit
  5. Sāmāyik
  6. Violence
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 339 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.5
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: