Gotra Karma

Published: 25.01.2017

Status-determining Karma-

1. One of the main eight types of Karma;

that Karma, which is responsible for the reincarnation of the Jīva (soul) in high or low caste etc., and also for gaining superiority or inferiority with respect to beauty, penance, strength etc.

uccanīcakulotpattilaksanah paryāyaviśesah tadvipākavedyam karmāpi gotram.

(PrajnāVṛ Pa 454)

2. The Karma which determines the highness or lowness of one's status (or position or rank) in the society.

uccanīcabhedam gacchati yeneti gotram.

(Jaisidī 4.3)


References are pages on which this term or individual has been marked. Select the list of references sorted by 'latest' (found on a page), 'alphabetical' or 'most used' (most frequent occurrence on a page).

Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. JAINA
  2. Jaina
  3. Jaina Pāribhāṣika Śabdakośa
  4. Jīva
  5. Karma
  6. Soul
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 763 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.46
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: