Posted: 25.12.2003
Updated on: 24.01.2012


Asanas, Āsana, āsana

The meaning of this Sanskrit term in the Yoga system of Indian philosophy is 'sitting posture' or 'seat'.

It describes different bodily yoga postures assumed to purify the flow of energy in the body for freeing it from blockades which might invoke health injuries.
It is the third of the eight prescribed stages by Patanjali intended to lead the aspirant to Samadhi, the spiritual aim of yoga.
There are 84 different Asanas, about 32 have been enumerated as the most important, of which perhaps the most common is Padmasana ('lotus posture').

See also:

  • Yogasana


Share this page on: