Madhya Loka

Posted: 13.12.2012


Madhya Lok, Madhya-Loka, Madhyalok

The middle world

Jain Concept Of Geography

Madhya Loka, at the centre of the universe consists of 900 yojans above and 900 yojans below earth surface. It is inhabited by:

  1. Jyotishka devas (luminous gods) - 790 to 900 yojans above earth
  2. Human, Tiryanch (Animals, birds, plants) - on the surface
  3. Vyantar devas (Intermediary gods) - 100 yojan below the ground level

Madhyaloka consists of many continent-islands surrounded by oceans, first eight whose names are:

Continent/ Island



Lavanoda (Salt - ocean)

Ghatki Khand

Kaloda (Black sea)


Puskaroda (Lotus Ocean)


Varunoda (Varun Ocean)


Kshiroda (Ocean of milk)


Ghrutoda (Ghee ocean)


Iksuvaroda (Ocean of Sugarcane Juice)



Mount Meru is at the centre of the world surrounded by Jambūdvīpa, in form of a circle forming a diameter of 100,000 There are two sets of sun, moon and stars revolving around Mount Meru; while one set works, the other set rests behind the Mount Meru.

Jambūdvīpa continent has 6 mighty mountains, dividing the continent into 7 zones (Kshetra).

The names of these zones are:

  1. Bharat Kshetra
  2. Mahavideh Kshetra
  3. Airavat Kshetra
  4. Ramyak
  5. Hairanyvat Kshetra
  6. Haimava Kshetra
  7. Hari Kshetra

The three zones i.e. Bharat Kshetra, Mahavideh Kshetra and Airavat Kshetra are also known as Karma bhoomi because practice of austerities and liberation is possible and the Tirthankaras preach the Jain doctrine. The other four zones, Ramyak, Hairanyvat Kshetra, Haimava Kshetra and Hari Kshetra are known as akarmabhoomi or bhogbhumi as humans live a sinless life of pleasure and no religion or liberation is possible.


Share this page on: