Sacred Books of the East

Posted: 11.05.2011
Updated on: 27.10.2011

Sacred Books of the East

The Sacred Books of the East is a monumental 50-volume set of English translations of Asian religious writings, edited by Max Müller and published by the Oxford University Press between 1879 and 1910. It incorporates the essential sacred texts of Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism, Zoroastrianism, Jainism, and Islam.

  • All of the 50 volumes have been converted into electronic versions and are available at The Internet Sacred Text Archive
  • In terms of Jainism the volumes 22 and 45, containing Jaina Sūtras translated by Hermann Jacobi, are of special interest.


Max Müller


Oxford University Press


1879 - 1910 (first edition)


Share this page on: