An Introduction To Jainism: [24] Jain Monastic Conduct

Published: 22.12.2008
Updated: 02.07.2015

Lord Mahāvīra has prescribed religion for both—lay followers as well as ascetics:


Agāra Dharma

i.e., Religion or code of conduct for household.


Anagāra Dharma

i.e., Religion or code of conduct for monks and nuns.

There are five Mahāvratas (great vows) to be observed by Jain monks and nuns -

1. Non-violence
2. Truth
3. Non-Stealing
4. Celibacy
5. Non-possession

These five vows are to be observed for the whole life. The monk (or nun) should never indulge in killing or hurting any living beings by body, speech and mind. Under any circumstances, he should never tell a lie. He should not steal anything; as such for staying at somebody's place, he should seek permission from the owner. He should abstain himself from any kind of sexual activities. Monks and nuns shouldn't touch the opposite sex. They shouldn't have any kind of possession except those which are necessary for sustaining life. All the monks and nuns have to follow these Mahāvratas even in adverse conditions.

All the monks and nuns also should practise the rules of deportment called Samiti & Gupti.

Five Samities


Iryā Samiti

Walking in a disciplined way.


Bhāṣā Samiti

Speaking in a disciplined way.


Eṣeṇā Samiti

Accepting food etc. in accordance with the rules prescribed for obtaining food etc. and eating food in a disciplined way.


Ādāna Nikṣepa Samiti

Using utensils in a disciplined way.


Utsarga Samiti

Disposal of excreta in a disciplined way.

Three Gupties


Mana Gupti

Control over the mental activities.


Vacana Gupti

Observance of silence.


Kāya Gupti

Control of physical activities.


JVB Ladnun © 2007

Editor: Prof. Muni Mahendra Kumar

Get this book at

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Anagāra
  2. Bhāṣā
  3. Body
  4. Celibacy
  5. Dharma
  6. Dāna
  7. Gupti
  8. Iryā samiti
  9. Kāya gupti
  10. Mahāvratas
  11. Mahāvīra
  12. Mana
  13. Nikṣepa
  14. Non-violence
  15. Samiti
  16. Utsarga Samiti
  17. Utsarga samiti
  18. Vacana
  19. Vacana gupti
  20. anagāra dharma
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1053 times.
© 1997-2020 HereNow4U, Version 4
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: