An Introduction To Jainism ► [15] 6. Saṃvara

Posted: 10.12.2008

It is of five kinds:

  1. Right belief (samyaktva)
  2. Abstinence (vrata)
  3. Absence of remissness (apramāda)
  4. Absence of passion (akaṣāya)
  5. Total cessation of all activities of mind, speech and body (ayoga).

As the inlet of a pond is stopped, door of a building is shut, and the hole in the boat is stopped, similarly stopping the cause of influx of karma in the jīva is saṃvara.

Share this page on: