Acharya Tulsi Memorial Lecture - Purshottam Jain and Ravindera Jain Awarded for Life Time Achievement

Posted: 03.03.2008
Updated on: 29.11.2012


Purshottam Jain and Ravinder Jain are co-writers of Punjabi Language. Near about 45 books regarding Jainism in Punjabi language are in their credit. Evaluating their enormous effort in the field of writing Jain World Foundation USA had declared both of the writers as "Jewels of Jain World" for pioneering Jain Literature Work in Punjabi for the first time in History.



On the occasion of Achary Tulsi Memorial Lecture organised by Guru Gobind Singh Department of Religious Studies in collaboration with Parmarthik Shikshan Samstha, Ladnun hold at senate hall, both the writers received award from the auspicious hands of Dr. Jaspal Singh, Vice Chancellor Punjabi Univesity, Patiala. Dr. Singh presided the programme and praised the endeavour of both men who achieved such a great honor as Punjabi Writer.



On this occasion the main speaker was Dr. Samani Mangal Prajna Ji Vice Chancellor Jain Vishava Bharti University, Ladnun (Rajsthan), Sadhvi Shri Sudha Ji Maharaj (Disciple of Inspiror Sadhvi Late Shri Swaran Kanta Ji Maharaj) was the Chief Guest of the function. Dr. Sadhvi Samriti Ji introduced both the writers recalling the statement of Achary Tulsi Ji that speaker did not last as long as a writer lasted. This was the inspiring sentence of Achry Tulsi, which motivated them for writing. Another source of inspiration had been Sadhvi Swarna Kanta Ji Maharaj who always encouraged them to keep continue their writing and extended her ever lasting blessings to them.


Dr. Rajinder Kaur Rohi Head of the Department of Religious Studies, Punjabi University, Patiala praised their achievements. She concerned the programme on the behalf of many people of Jain Samaj Shri Surendra Mittal & Smt. Lakshmi Mittal garlanded both the writers and praised them repeatedly. People of Jain Samaj also honoured Vice Chancellor and Head of the Department of Religious Studies. They also presented a Shawl to Dr. Pradyumna Shah Singh, Lecturer in Jainism.


It is noteworthy that the Elizabth Lehmann Chairperson of Award Committee and Shri Vinod Daryapurkar Chairman Jain World Foundation USA had sent both thetrophies to Punjabi University to confer them honour to both the writers. On the behalf of Jain World Foundation Honorable Vice Chancellor hand over trophies to respective writers.





Share this page on: