Gurudev Rakeshbhai

Updated: 24.04.2017
Gurudev Rakeshbhai Zaveri, Rakesh Jhaveri


Born: 26.09.1966, Mumbai, India



Rakesh Jhaveri is a spiritual leader, scholar of Jainism and orator. He is a disciple of the nineteenth century scholar, philosopher, and spiritual leader Shrimad Rajchandra.

Early life and education

Rakesh Jhaveri was born in Mumbai, India on September 26, 1966 to Dilip and Rekha Jhaveri, who followed the Śvētāmbara Murtipujak tradition of Jainism. In 1972, he began his academic studies at Activity High School in Mumbai. At the age of 8, he came across a picture of Shrimad Rajchandra and, as he describes it, he immediately had a Samadhi-like experience.

He acknowledged Shrimad Rajchandra as his Guru and in 1983, after he completed the ICSE exam, he declared that he would devote the rest of his life to the pursuit and spreading of spirituality.

He graduated with a Bachelor of Arts from Osmania University, Hyderabad, in 1988 and completed the entire 3 year course in a period of just 3 months. He undertook post-graduate studies at the University of Mumbai, graduating with a Master of Arts degree in Philosophy in 1991 and a Doctor of Philosophy degree in 1998. His PhD thesis was a study of Atmasiddhi, composed in Gujarati by Shrimad Rajchandra.

In 2001, on the day of Mahavir Jayanti, he established Shrimad Rajchandra Ashram at Dharampur. The ashram is located on the hillock of Mohangadh.

In 2002, Pujya Gurudevshri began the tradition of initiating Atmarpits on his birthday. This group of followers choose to give up worldly possessions and commit to celibacy. Many of the atmarpits have post doctoral education levels.

In 2010, under the guidance of Jhaveri, Shrimad Rajchandra Mission began and has 73 Satsang centres, 30 Youth group centres and 188 Divinetouch centres worldwide. In addition, Shrimad Rajchandra Mission Dharampur also manages Shrimad Rajchandra Love and Care (SRLC)


Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Celibacy
  2. Dharampur
  3. Guru
  4. Hyderabad
  5. Jainism
  6. Jayanti
  7. Mahavir
  8. Mahavir Jayanti
  9. Mumbai
  10. Murtipujak
  11. Satsang
  12. Shrimad Rajchandra
  13. Shrimad Rajchandra Mission Dharampur
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 3085 times.
© 1997-2020 HereNow4U, Version 4
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: