Acharya Rajendrasuri

Updated on: 23.04.2012


Acharya Rajendra Suri, Rajendra Suri, Rajendrasuri, आचार्य राजेंद्रसूरीजी, राजेंद्रसूरीजी


   ► Individuals ► Svetambara ► Murtipujaka/Deravasi ► Acharya



Acharya Rajendrasuri (आचार्य राजेंद्रसूरीजी, 1826-1906) was the major Svetambara Jain reformer of the 18th and 19th centuries. He was born on 3 December 1826 at Bharatpur, Rajasthan. In 1880, as the leader of the Tapa Gaccha, he led a movement to restore the orders of wandering monks, leading to near extinction of the Yati institution. He restored the shramana tradition by forming the Agama or Samakit Gaccha, which is now known as the Tristutik Gaccha. He opposed the worship of gods and goddesses. He founded the Mohankheda as a centre for learning and a tirtha around 1940 in Dhar, Madhya Pradesh.

Acharya Rajendrasuri wrote many books on Jainism, the most famous being the Abhidhānarājaindrakōśa (Sanskrit: अभिधानराजैंद्रकोश), which is the only available encyclopedia of Prakrit, Sanskrit, and Pali words used in Jain works.

Date of birth:

Vikram Samvat 1883 Pous Shukla Saptami (03.12.1826 CE)

Place of birth:

Bharatpur (Rajasthan)

Name of birth:

Shri Ratnaraj

Father's name:

Shri Rishabhdasji

Mother's name:

Shri Kesari Devi




Vikram Samvat 1903 (1846 CE) in Udaipur


Pujya Acharya Shrimad Vijay Pramod Suriji

Tirth's established:

Shri Mohan Kheda Tirth, Shri Talanpur Tirth, Shri Korataji Tirth, Shri Swarnagiri Tirth, Shri Bhandavpur Tirth etc.

Panyas padvi:


Acharya padvi:

Vikram Samvat 1925 (1868 CE), Ahore (Rajasthan)


Vikram Samvat 1925 (1868 CE), Jawara (Madhya Pradesh)


Vikram Samvat 1963 (1903 CE), Pous Shukla Saptami (Rajgadh)

Place of samadhi:

Shri Mohan Kheda Tirth

Share this page on: