16.12.2014 ►Sri Lakshmisena Swamiji of Narasimharajapura Jain Mutt Attains Samadhi

Author:  Image of Nitin H.P.Nitin H.P.
Published: 17.12.2014

Jain Heritage Centres

Narasimharajapura Swamiji Samadhi

Narasimharajapura (Chikamagalur District, Karnataka), December 16, 2014: 

His Holiness Swasti Sri Lakshmisena Bhattarakha Swamiji the pontiff of Narasimharajapura (N.R.Pura) Jain Mutt attained Samadhi at 9.45 pm in N.R.Pura on Tuesday 16th December 2014. The last rites of Swamiji will be performed at N.R.Pura on 17th December 2014.

N.R.Pura Jain Mutt is one of the ancient Jain Mutts of India and is very popular for the shrine of Goddess Jwalamalini and Lord Chandranath. His Holiness Swamiji was initiated as the Bhattaraka of this Mutt in 1976 and he served as its pontiff for a period of 38 years. Since then he had evinced keen interest in the overall development of the place and contributed considerably to propagation of Jainism in the region.

Unique Tradition - Unlike the other Jain mutts, N.R.Pura Jain Mutt has a unique tradition of appointing the next Bhattarakha before the Samadhi of its current pontiff. As a continuation of this tradition the Vichara Patta Kshulla Diksha of the new Bhattaraka designate was held a few months back in the presence of Bhattarakhas from other Jain Mutts. 


Jain Heritage Centres News Service

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. Bhattaraka
  2. Bhattarakha
  3. Bhattarakhas
  4. Diksha
  5. Jain Heritage Centres
  6. Jainism
  7. Jwalamalini
  8. Karnataka
  9. Mutt
  10. Narasimharajapura
  11. Samadhi
  12. Swamiji
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 894 times.
© 1997-2020 HereNow4U, Version 4
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: