03.01.2013 ►Mandaragiri ►Manastambha, Chaumukha Idol defaced at Mandaragiri

Published: 05.01.2013

Jain Heritage Centres


One of the file photos of the manastambha that has been defaced.

Mandaragiri (Tumkur District, Karnataka), January 3, 2013

The manastambha & a chaturmukha (four faced) idol of Jain Tirthankara installed on the manastambha have been defaced by miscreants on the ancient Mandaragiri hillock in the early morning hours of Thursday January 3, 2013. The gate leading to the group of temples on the hillock has also been dismantled. Certain parts of the manastambha & one side of the chaturmukha idol are ruined.

It is assumed that they are reported to have been defaced in search of gold/silver/treasure that might have been put below the manastambha & idol at the time of installation.

Mandaragiri is an ancient Jain Heritage Centre that traces its history to more than 1000 years ago. It has a group of 7 temples installed on the hillock including that of Lord Chandraprabha, Brahma  Yaksha & other Jain Tirthankaras.

Vereendra Heggade condems idol defacing - Dr.D.Veerendra Heggade, Dharmadhikari of Dharmasthala; Sri D.Surendrakumar, president of Bharatiya Jain Milan & Sri S.Jitendrakumar have condemned the attack & have called upon the Government of Karnataka to provide proper protection to the Jain places of worship.

JAINHERITAGECENTRES.COM (JHC) condems idol defacing - Dr.H.A.Parshwanath, renowned writer, Jain scholar & co-founder of JHC and Sri Nitin H.P., executive director & founder of JHC have condemned the attack and have urged the Government of Karnataka to provide proper protection for Jains, Jain ascetics & Jain places of worship.

Jain Heritage Centres News Service

Share this page on:
Page glossary
Some texts contain  footnotes  and  glossary  entries. To distinguish between them, the links have different colors.
  1. 8. Tirthankara Chandraprabha
  2. Brahma
  3. Dharmadhikari
  4. Dharmasthala
  5. Dr. Veerendra Heggade
  6. JHC
  7. Jain Heritage Centres
  8. JainHeritageCentres
  9. Karnataka
  10. Mandaragiri
  11. Nitin H.P.
  12. Parshwanath
  13. Tirthankara
  14. Tirthankaras
  15. Yaksha
Page statistics
This page has been viewed 1065 times.
© 1997-2021 HereNow4U, Version 4.06
Contact us
Social Networking

HN4U Deutsche Version
Today's Counter: